Accounting software compared
QuickBooks Online, MYOB Business, Xero and Accountants.contact — what each one costs in Australia, what's included, and where each falls short. Prices checked 10 July 2026.
Pricing
Each price is shown exactly as the vendor publishes it, including their GST basis — vendors differ, and restating them risks getting it wrong. Promotional rates for new customers are excluded; these are the ongoing prices.
QuickBooks Online
by Intuit
From A$33inc GST
Global heavyweight with a deep app marketplace. In Australia payroll is not in the base subscription — it is added on via Employment Hero.
Check current pricingMYOB Business
by MYOB
From A$99per year, Solo
The long-standing Australian incumbent. Strong on inventory and the desktop-lineage AccountRight range; payroll is an add-on on the lower plans.
Check current pricingXero
by Xero
From A$35ex GST
The Australian small-business default, with the largest local ecosystem of apps and advisors. Payroll and automated super are included across the business plans.
Check current pricingAccountants.contact
by WWW.DIRECTORY.COM.AU PTY LTD
From A$9.95basis not stated
A newer Australian-built double-entry ledger with flat pricing and unlimited users on the Business plan. It does not yet lodge directly with the ATO or connect live bank feeds.
Check current pricingQuickBooks Online plans
| Plan | Price | GST basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Simple Start | A$33/mo | inc GST | 1 user |
| Essentials | A$55/mo | inc GST | 3 users |
| Plus | — | inc GST | 5 users |
Published Plus pricing could not be confirmed from a single authoritative source at the date checked — sources disagreed. Confirm with Intuit.
MYOB Business plans
| Plan | Price | GST basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Solo | A$99/yr | basis not stated | Mobile, 1 user |
| Business Lite | A$315/yr | basis not stated | Payroll +A$3/employee/mo |
| Business Pro | A$70/mo | basis not stated | Payroll +A$3/employee/mo |
| AccountRight Plus | A$165/mo | basis not stated | Payroll included |
| AccountRight Premier | — | basis not stated | Adds multi-currency |
Prices are the "after offer period" figures published by MYOB. MYOB's pricing page does not state whether GST is included.
Xero plans
| Plan | Price | GST basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ignite | A$35/mo | ex GST | Entry plan |
| Grow | A$75/mo | ex GST | |
| Comprehensive | A$100/mo | ex GST | |
| Ultimate 10 | A$130/mo | ex GST | Adds multi-currency |
Xero renamed its Australian plans (previously Starter/Standard/Premium). Payroll and automated superannuation were folded into the business plans from 1 June 2025.
Accountants.contact plans
| Plan | Price | GST basis | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Starter | A$9.95/mo | basis not stated | 1 user |
| Business | A$39/mo | basis not stated | Unlimited users |
| Practice | Custom | — | For accounting firms |
Operated by the same company as Directory.com.au — see the disclosure above.
Features side by side
included Add-on costs extra not included Not yet on the roadmap — varies by plan / not confirmed
| Feature | QuickBooks Online | MYOB Business | Xero | Accountants.contact |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Double-entry general ledger | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Invoices & quotes | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Bills / accounts payable | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Bank reconciliation | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Live bank feeds | Included | Included | Included | Not yet |
| Accountants.contact imports CSV/OFX; live feeds are on its roadmap. | ||||
| GST tracking & BAS preparation | Included | Included | Included | Included |
| Lodge BAS directly to the ATO | Included | Included | Included | Not yet |
| Accountants.contact prepares the BAS and records the lodgement reference; you lodge via the ATO portal or your agent. | ||||
| Payroll calculation | Add-on | Add-on | Included | Included |
| QuickBooks adds payroll via Employment Hero. MYOB charges +A$3/employee/mo on Lite & Pro; AccountRight includes it. Xero includes payroll in its business plans. | ||||
| Lodge Single Touch Payroll (STP) to the ATO | Included | Included | Included | Not yet |
| Accountants.contact structures STP pay events but does not transmit them; lodge through a registered agent. | ||||
| SuperStream super payments | Included | Included | Included | Not yet |
| On the Accountants.contact roadmap. | ||||
| Inventory | — | Included | — | Included |
| Plan-dependent on QuickBooks and Xero. | ||||
| Fixed-asset register | — | — | — | Included |
| Not confirmed on the vendor pricing pages at the date checked — this does not mean they lack it. | ||||
| Multi-currency | — | — | — | Included |
| Xero on Ultimate; MYOB on AccountRight Premier; QuickBooks plan-dependent. | ||||
| Unlimited users on the main plan | Not included | Included | Included | Included |
| QuickBooks caps users by plan (1 / 3 / 5). | ||||
Which one should you choose?
Common questions
Which accounting software is cheapest in Australia?
Do all of them handle GST and BAS?
Is payroll included in the price?
Can Accountants.contact lodge Single Touch Payroll?
What about live bank feeds?
Do these prices include GST?
How often do these prices change?
Is this comparison independent?
How we compiled this
Sources: QuickBooks Online · MYOB Business · Xero · Accountants.contact. Also see our ERP software comparison — an accounting package and an ERP are not the same purchase. This page is general information, not accounting, tax or financial advice — talk to a registered agent about your circumstances.
QuickBooks and Intuit are trademarks of Intuit Inc. MYOB is a trademark of MYOB Group Pty Ltd. Xero is a trademark of Xero Limited. Directory.com.au is not affiliated with, endorsed by, or sponsored by any of them. Trademarks are used only to identify the products compared.
Need a person, not software?
Browse verified accountants and bookkeepers in the directory — every listing is reviewed by a real person before it goes live.